2018 for BC Cars Motorsport

2018 Drivers

In the Mk1 Championship we had returning drivers of Simon Woods, Clive Chisnall, father and son Team Adrian and Charlie Burge and Bruce Robinson starting his first full season after taking part in a couple of races during 2017. In addition, there were two new drivers for 2018 in Lewis Cannon and Teddy Clark. Regulars Sam Gendy and James Love will join us in later rounds.

In the new Mk3 Super Series we have 3 of our 2017 Mk1 Drivers who have made the move to the newer model. Patrick Collins, Josh Jackson and Matt Pickford will be competing in this Series which is taking place on the same race card as the Mk1 weekends.

Competition Format

The Mk1 Championship and the Mk3 Super Series will be competed over 8 rounds in 2018 with 3 races at each round (Brands Hatch, Snetterton, Cadwell Park, Oulton Park, Silverstone, Anglesey, Rockingham and Donington).

The Mk1 Championship has points awarded for each finish which go down by 2 points with each place. A win secures 100 points, 2nd place 98 points and so on. There is a bonus 2 points awarded for the driver who gets the fastest lap in each race. Due to the large entry of cars (typically 50) each race is split into an A and a B race. The top half of the qualifying session will be in race A and the bottom half in the B race. After each race there are promotions and demotions. Bottom 5 in the A race are demoted to the next B race and the Top 5 in the B race are promoted to the next A race. Trophies are awarded for the Top 3 finishers in each A race and each B race. The Championship is decided by the driver that has accumulated the most points at the end of the season.

The Mk3 Super Series is in its inaugural year and so does not have Championship status for the 2018 season. As a result there are no points awarded but trophies are
presented for the Top 3 drivers in each race. This should change for the 2019 season as it is required to run for one year before applying for Championship status.

For both competitions each weekend is made up of a 20 Minute Qualifying session, which takes place on a Saturday morning, and then 3 races for each driver over the rest of Saturday and through Sunday.